Homemade Sugar Scrub

Christmas is coming, you guys. You know what that means, don’t you?

Yes, cookies galore. But that’s not what I’m talking about.

Presents! Oh, crap. So many presents to buy.

Wait a second, I’m too broke to buy presents except for my daughter, niece and nephew. I try to do what I can for them. My mom and aunt also get a little something. 

But as for the adults, they are just happy enough to have me get drunk on wine and sing carols for them.

This year though, I have found a way to actually make the females in my life real gifts with my own two little hands.

What woman doesn’t enjoy slathering goop on their face? I know I do.

So I had a super idea (it happens sometimes) to make some kind of facial scrub.

There are so many recipes out there for sugar scrubs it truly boggles the mind. I found one that is the most affordable to make from saltlicklessons.com.

Vanilla Sugar Scrub

What you’ll need:

Sugar (Obviously. You can also use brown sugar as well. Yum. )

Coconut oil or aloe vera gel (the cheapest of the two)

Real vanilla extract

A mason jar with lid

  1. Combine the coconut oil or aloe vera and one cup of the sugar in a bowl. Mix until creamy.
  2. Add the vanilla extract while continuing to stir. This is when you would add coloring too if you wanted to get fancy.
  3. Add the remaining sugar until the formula reaches the desired consistency.
  4. Put in a mason jar and decorate as desired.

I plan on using some ribbons and whatnot to decorate mine.

You might be tempted to eat it but I don’t think that aloe vera gel tastes good.

 

lavender-vanilla-scrub-1

This is an example, mine will be better.

 

You can mix this up by using any sort of essential oil or extract that you’d like. I just happen to have some real vanilla extract in my kitchen.

Do you have any homemade budget friendly Christmas gift ideas? Let us know in the comments!

29 thoughts on “Homemade Sugar Scrub

  1. That’s a nice idea. Unfortunately, I’m one of those women who no longer puts any goop on. 😦 But it would be a great gift for someone who still does. I would end up eating it off my face. I’m making bowl cozies and lace bookmarks, that sort of thing. No money here either. I’ve found some free patterns for fabric ornaments to make also. My son is getting a flannel and minky quilt. Daughter gets an apron with skulls and roses. She’s different. 🙂 I bake a lot for gifts. Not cheap either but everyone eats.

    Liked by 1 person

      • It’s like anything else, you practice till you find the magic. My first batch every year is destined for the dogs. Then I get into the flow and start to get it right. I’ve been practicing for 15 years and a few years ago I stuck my finger in the batter and noticed it tasted off. Forgot the sugar. Fortunately figured it out before I baked the banana bread. 🙂 Every oven is different too. Some just don’t bake as well. I’m not a great cook but no one ever got sick from my food so I’m hanging in there with it. Same with sewing. You win some, some you don’t. 🙂 I just keep trying.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever put goop on my face. I’m not what you call a ‘normal’ woman. 😉 It is a super idea though, Mer. Nice personal gift. If you wanted to, you could dye it in the person’s favorite color.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Nice idea! Epsom salts with essential oils and maybe dried lavender for bath salts – no scrap the dried lavender idea – bits in the bath are an effort to clean out! I have always given little sachets of Pot Pourri of the flowers that bloomed in my garden through the year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

