What To Do With Those Thanksgiving Leftovers

Thanksgiving Β is next week in the States (Canada already had theirs), so I thought it would be a good time to bring up what to do with all those Thanksgiving leftovers.

I mean, really, if you are like me, you get tired of the same old leftovers about Saturday night. Yet, there is still so much there!

Well, you could freeze most of it. I do. I freeze the turkey and stuffing. If you don’t want to freeze it, you just want to use it up and get it over with, I have a few recipe ideas you might consider.

The turkey, of course, can be used in many recipes that use chicken or even beef. But what about that stuffing or mashed potatoes? Or even the vegetables? Or that old standby, cranberry sauce?

Here are a few ideas I thought to share with you.

turkey-1459157_640

To use up some of that turkey, vegetables, and even the mashed potatoes, make a Shepherds Pie. Bam! You have used lots of the leftovers in one dish and you wouldn’t even know it’s leftovers when you eat it.

Ok, how about the cranberry sauce? I found a place that lists all sorts of ideas and they all sound amazing! How about using it as a jam on toast? Well, go to this website and get some ideas!

How about the gravy? I always make way too much gravy as the husband and I both love it. With the leftovers, I freeze it and use it as a base in soups, as it works pretty darn good that way. Go here for some more ideas on what to do it all that yummy gravy.

I know a lot of people love their sweet potato casserole. But what to do with those leftovers? Here’s a recipe for making biscuits out of them, even if they have the marshmallow topping!

Now my favorite is the Thanksgiving stuffing. I love that stuff, so I make lots of it, but what to do with the leftovers? I mean, it’s flavored bread……well, here’s some ideas for you that goes from breakfast hash to bacon wrapped stuffing bites to stuffed mushrooms. This site has eighteen recipes to share with you. Go take a look.

turkey-23435_640

 

Do you have ideas for those Thanksgiving leftovers? Let us know!

 

11 thoughts on “What To Do With Those Thanksgiving Leftovers

  1. Down here cornbread dressing is a big thing. Sometimes we’ll add sausage, pecans, and/or apple to it, for extra flavor texture. Regardless, it makes a mean breakfast patty fried up with eggs. I heart it so much.

    Like

  2. I’ve figured out the solution to leftovers. I am not cooking this year. Last year I gave them all to the family to take home with them. This year I’ve lied to family and told each I’m going to the others place. My daughter and I are going to grill a steak and heat up some frozen spicy sweet potato fries and watch a Hallmark movie in peace and quiet. πŸ™‚ No leftovers. Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

    Like

    • Now that’s what I call plans, Marlene. Enjoy yourself! I enjoy having just me and the husband. I cooked a big turkey leg with mashed taters and stuffing and thats all I did this year. It was stress free and easy. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Last year I had 13. It was fun but expensive. You get to keep it simple which is how I like it. Sad that I have to hide but I’m really tired of all the fuss this year. My son will be here for Christmas. That will be enough fuss for me.

        Like

  3. My mom and aunt always cook Thanksgiving dinner. I’m lucky to get enough leftovers for the next night. LOL
    These are great ideas. πŸ™‚
    I am so slacking over here. I shall post something soon.

    Like

    • I stopped cooking for family because I was always expected to do the shopping, cooking and clean up while every one else just came late, ate and left. Piss on that I told the husband, I ain’t doing it no more. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

