Grocery Store Savings

I admit I spend more than I should at the grocery store. I’m guilty as charged. It’s so easy to do!

I go in for a couple of things and go out with way more than I should and I hate grocery shopping! But…I am trying to do better. And you can too. Unless you’re one of those kind of shoppers…..you know….you go in the store and come out with ONLY what you need.

Show offs.

Anyway, I’ve been scouring the interweb for tips on how to become a better shopper. I love research. I hate shopping. I know, I know. I’m weird.

Here’s some tips I came away with, hope they help us all.

Don't shop with kids either! They convince you to buy things you don't need!

Don’t shop with kids either! They convince you to buy things you don’t need!

 

Make a shopping list. Now I do this all the time. Only because I’m old and my memory is not as it used to be. Unfortunately, I sometimes forget the damn list. Sighhhhh. The good thing is…I do make the list and most times do remember to take it with me. It helps so much to just get what’s on the list and not extras. I know my grocery store as well as I know my home. I know where everything is and just go and grab what I need. Most times……..

Don’t go to the store hungry. I’m sure you’ve all heard this one. It is so true. I can vouch for it. Last week I made that mistake and went hungry. I ended up buying twice as much as I planned. Stupid. Have a snack before you go or go just after you’ve eaten lunch. I don’t eat breakfast but I prefer to do my shopping in the mornings. I need to have a snack before I go. An apple, a carrot…something.

Check the upper and lower shelves for cheaper items. I do this a lot and it’s true! There are cheaper items on the upper or lower shelves. In the store I shop at, it’s usually the upper. I’m vertically challenged, folks. The upper shelves are hard for me to reach, so of course, that’s where the cheaper items I want are. I think it’s a conspiracy.  I ask complete strangers (especially the good-looking young men) to get me the items on the top shelf. Most people are very helpful. Don’t be afraid to ask for help.  You never know when you might find a new friend.

Don’t buy your toiletries from your grocery store. I usually don’t. There is a nice Shopper’s Drug Mart right across the street from the grocery store and their prices for my toiletries are usually lower. I know it’s much more convenient to buy them when you are grocery shopping but try to refrain. You can save some serious cash buying them at the drug store.

Plan a weekly menu. Sounds easy enough, right? It’s not. At least for me. Hopefully for you. I try to plan my meals for the week. I usually can. Then I make a list of the items I need and buy those items. Sometimes it doesn’t always work out but I still have those items for next week. I do tend to save some money doing this, so it’s all good.

Buy generic. I do this often. I have found that most name brands also manufacture a ‘generic’ or ‘no-name’ brand. It’s the same stuff usually just under a different name. Get into the habit of reading labels. You’ll be surprised. Pleasantly.

Don’t buy pre-cut stuff. I know buying that bag of salad is easier for you. Try to resist. It’s so much cheaper and fresher to just buy a head of lettuce and clean and chop it up yourself. Same with the carrots, cheese and other stuff that you can either buy shredded, chopped or peeled. Do it yourself! Yes, it might take some or your precious time and effort but it will save you bunches. (see what I did there? ha!)

She's way to happy to be grocery shopping!

She’s way too happy to be grocery shopping!

 

Those are some of my suggestions. I bet you have some of your own, don’t you? Let us know in the comment section! 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Grocery Store Savings

  1. I ALWAYS buy too much when I go to the grocery store. I love shopping in general, but not grocery shopping and so part of the reason I buy more is that I figure while I’m there I’ll make the most of it rather than having to go back tomorrow. But mostly I do my supermarket shopping online – I think I’ve mentioned before on my blog how good the online supermarket shopping is here in England, all the big supermarkets do it. It’s easier to be more disciplined online because you can just have your list, and enter each item in the search box, and just go to those things rather than having to walk past lots of other things that tempt you! Also online you can see the price going up every time you add something into your basket, so that keeps in you in check too!

    The only thing I partly disagree with you on is not buying the pre-prepared veg – I hate washing lettuce, so I sometimes end up wasting it if I buy it unprepared because I don’t feel like doing it, whereas the bagged lettuce always gets used. So there’s that to consider.

    Oh, and also toiletries, here in England, I would say toiletries in supermarkets are generally better value than other stores, and they always have 2-for-1 deals and things like that so you can stock on up on your regular items as they come round on offer.

    Like

    • All good points, Vanessa. I think a lot depends on what kind of shopper you are and what kind of stores you have around here. Online grocery shopping is not quite here yet in my neck of the woods or I’d be all over that! I always thought it was a great idea! As for pre-prepared veggi’s. I think too that depends on the store. My store has cheaper prices on the whole kind. I don’t mind chopping and shredding, it gets my frustrations out. 😉
      It has a lot to do with how much money has one to spend on groceries too. Me and the hubby have a very tight fixed budget to live on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have done and do most of these. The salad I don’t like the bag, I rather cut and mix my own salad. I learned that not to go to the store hungry when my kids were little. I would go in and get so much junk food. Thanks for the share good tips.

    Like

  3. Good tips all. I don’t buy the packaged stuff anymore though my son still does or did when he was here. They have too many cases of contamination in them. I try to eat before I go and if I don’t, I come home eating a donut or 2. I keep my list in my cell phone because it’s always, always with me. And I’d rather take a beating than grocery shop. Well, shopping is a beating. But I buy almost no toiletries but what I buy, is at the big discount grocery in my little town. I can’t get them cheaper and don’t want to have to go to another store. I love to walk the mall but not to shop. I do it for exercise and consider my grocery shopping an exercise routine. I walk fast from one end to the other. No time to look at the junk. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Marlene! I look at my grocery jaunts as exercise too. In self control mostly. LOL I hate shopping. I really do. Always have. My mom always thought I was strange because she loved it as does my sister. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. We try to always make a menu because it helps a ton, not so much even at the store but if I don’t have to think about what I’m cooking I’m less likely to want to buy take-out. Plus I know I’ll have everything I need to make those meals. We tend to look at the grocery ad when we’re making the menu for the coming week so that we can get things that are on sale.

    As for the toiletries, I tend to get that stuff at Target or Costco, in big bottles. The only thing I really get at the grocery store is antibacterial body wash because for some reason that’s the only place around here I can find it.

    Like

  5. Gah. I thought I was following you already. I love this. One of the stores has a monthly buy 10 for 10 and get the 11th item free. I get all my produce and pay 10 bucks (no tax).

    Like

Leave a Reply

