Use Your Freezer to Save Money

If you don’t already own a separate freezer from the one in your refrigerator think seriously about investing in one. They are a huge money saver in the long run, even if you are single or it’s just you and husband.

There are so many things you can freeze, even things you were told weren’t freezable. I experiment with mine, most times it works out, rarely it doesn’t.  I freeze everything from soup to nuts…literally.

freezer

How many of you were told you can’t freeze cheese? I was told that when I was younger. I freeze cheese. Cheese is expensive, so when I find it on sale I buy extra and then shred it (if it isn’t shredded already) and freeze it. Works great when all you need is a little cheese for your recipe. I even use shredded cheese to make grilled cheese sandwiches. Works great as it doesn’t take as long to melt as sliced.

Here is a list of other foods you can freeze……..

Nuts: These are great for the freezer! Freezing them keeps them fresh for months. Nuts have oils in them, freezing them keeps the oil from getting rancid. They only take a few minutes to thaw.

Rice: Cooked or uncooked. I mostly freeze cooked rice. It freezes great and reheats like a champ with a couple of spoonfuls of water. I use cooked frozen rice in lots of recipes. Stir fried rice and soup comes to mind.

Bananas: I’ve frozen bananas for smoothies and banana bread. They work great frozen! (or thawed)

Bacon: I freeze bacon all the time. If you only need a few slices at a time…freeze it that way. It thaws out quickly.

Fresh herbs: I do this quite often too. Most recipes only call for a small amount of fresh herbs, so freeze the rest! Most herbs freeze quite well. I wash the herbs and pat them dry with paper towels, then I lay them flat on a pan and stick it in the freezer for a while. When they are frozen I put them in a freezer bag. That way you can take out as much as you need when you need it. They last for months in the freezer.

Chips: Yes, I’m talking potato chips here. If you buy a big bag, or several smaller bags they can be stored in the freezer. Chips like nuts have oils on them (duhh!) so if you only eat a few chips at a time, store your tightly sealed bag in the freezer! They can last for months, even an opened bag.

Flour: Actually if you are a big time baker you might know this one. Flour last for months in the freezer and professional bakers store it there as it works better in most baking recipes. Go figure!

Eggs: Store them in the freezer without their shells. You can also store the yolks and whites separate! Or you can whip them together (like you would for scrambled eggs) and store them that way.

Chocolate: Now who doesn’t crave chocolate? Even I do on occasion! But…there is a trick to freezing chocolate. If you stick a hunk of chocolate in the freezer straight from the store it will become crumbly when you take it out to take a bit of it later. First, stick it in the refrigerator for a day, then stick it in the freezer. Comes out perfect!

ge-freezer-ad

 

 

 

Have any other freezer tips? Let us know in the comment section!

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Use Your Freezer to Save Money

  1. I don’t freeze anything but my meat…. but even that can be a money saver. I look for meat that’s marked down because it’s near its expiration date and buy all they have then put it in the freezer. I haven’t paid full price for uncooked chicken in years…

    Like

  2. We freeze loaves of bread. My husband and I only go shopping once a month, so we freeze our bread as soon as we get home from the store. It lasts way past the expiration date and it thaws in the pantry within a few hours. We also do this with hotdog and hamburger buns. We pull a couple out at a time when we need them and they usually thaw out sitting on the counter in the time it takes to make up the food that’s going on them.

    We also make up a big pot of pasta and sauce once a month, split it up into 8 servings and freeze 6 of those servings for once a week dinners throughout the rest of the month. They heat up well after a few minutes in the microwave, stirring a couple times. To add protein we make up a couple servings of chicken nuggets the night were having the leftovers and add them to the pasta and sauce. It’s a fairly cheap and good meal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had no idea that you could freeze items like that!
    We got 4 huge eggplants from the church…and after doing a Google search, it said you can blanch slices, then freeze. The husband did that a few days ago. So now we have enough for another round of eggplant parm. 🙂
    Great post. Jackie!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was going to add “blanch” but I see you have already mentioned it. Blanching always seemed like such a sophisticated cooking term to me. but now that I understand it, I do it quite a lot. We are fans of root vegetables and they keep very well in the freezer, after being chopped and blanched. I didnt know about eggplants. I will try it. 😀

    Like

  5. I’ve got a little stand up freezer that sits on a table top, perfect for not having to bend down! I freeze all the berries/plums and apples( cook them apples first) I pick every fall and have enough to make jam all year round! 😉 great idea’s guys!! T. 🙂

    Like

  6. I’d like to have an extra one and if I ever get all the kids stuff out of here, I’m going to go forward with that. I freeze most of what’s on your list. Freezer is always packed. I’ve always kept flour and nuts in the fridge or freezer. Great money saver. 🙂

    Like

  7. The wife and I really love this blog and appreciate the useful information you provide. We would like to encourage you to keep writing and never abandon this blog. When you decide to have a mobile app version, we would love to help. I appreciate the hard work you have put into this blog and wish you all future success in business and in life.

    Thank you for your time, it is the most precious thing we all possess.
    -Jacque’

    Like

Leave a Reply

