Welcome to the Thrifty Divas!

tdg1

Hi! This is a new blog dedicated to living thrifty.

We’d like to introduce ourselves.

Jackie P:

Hello people! My name is Jackie P and I’m poor. I was born poor and I’m still poor. So I like to think of myself as an expert in living nicely on little. It can be done.
My friend Mer and I have talked a long time about doing a blog about how to live well while being short of money. Now it’s becoming a reality.
I’ve learned how to budget. I am the budgeting queen! I have had many years on which to learn. It’s not so bad. I mean sure, I would love to have unlimited funds.Β Who wouldn’t? Unless I win the lottery that just is NOT going to happen.
So I deal with it. And so can you!
When I was a kid I knew we were poor but I wasn’t bothered by it. It was a time when designer clothes and fancy houses were not such a big deal. We used our imaginations
when playing. Plus, I’d rather go the public library then shopping any day! Still do.
My parents had four kids to feed, clothe and provide for. They taught us to appreciate the little things in life and that has stuck with me throughout my adulthood. I was taught
how to cook at an early age.
So now I cook cheaply (well as cheap as one can with outrageous prices nowadays!) with few ingredients. I was taught how to make a little go aΒ long way. I’ll try to show you some of my recipes and my methods so you too can do the same.
We’ll all be Thrifty Divas!
β€”
Merbear:
Like Jackie said, I’m poor too. We both realized that we had this in common and discussed doing a blog about it. Much time passed, until we finally came to a point in our lives where we could devote some time to the idea.
So, here we are!
I will also share some recipes, because even though a person is broke, they enjoy eating. I know I do. I just got a slow cooker and ordered a used 5 ingredient (holy shimoley) cookbook from Thriftbook.com. Exciting stuff!
We both look forward to sharing our thrifty knowledge with you all.
28 thoughts on “Welcome to the Thrifty Divas!

  1. Reblogged this on To Breathe is to Write and commented:

    Hello people! Come over and visit my new blog that I have started with my friend Mer! We are the ‘Thrifty Divas’!! Come and say hi and give us a follow if you want to learn how we live well on very little. πŸ™‚ Or just come over and give us a wave!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Looking forward to your new blog!!! I love your blog Mer, and will follow Jackie’s other blog!! I am 57 and on my own with a Fixed Income and trying to support my 15 year old daughter! I have been chronically ill all my life but the last 10 years have been the worst. Asthmatic, Fibro ugghhh and have had 10 surgeries for a chronic sinus disease (left frontal). Going back in in October for my 2nd craniotomy for this. So I need budget help as I am in debt and feel squeezed every month!!! I live up in Canada! So thanks Ladies!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thank you Cathy!! We both are extremely excited about finally starting this blog! I hope that you enjoy it and find it helpful. πŸ™‚
      We’re not sure of the posting schedule, but I personally am aiming for something here at least once a week.
      Good luck with your surgery, as well. ❀

      Like

  3. I look forward to learning how to live thriftier from you two thrifty divas! Five ingredient crockpot recipes sound like just what I need. Not only am I tired of spending obscene amounts of money at the grocery store, I’m too lazy to make things that have long list of ingredients.

    Like

    • Exactly why I wanted one so much myself. I hate that I can’t really cook like I used to do…so I figured, hey, what an easy way to still make dinner…and save energy and money.
      Thanks for following, Trisha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

